US Veterans

Veterans Helping Veterans, US Vets Infromation and Benefits,

VA Appoints New Members to Veterans' Advisory Committee on Education

Veterans Affairs Appoints New Members to Veterans’ Advisory Committee on Education

November 22, 2017, 11:02:00 AM

Printable Version

Unites States — This day, the U.S. Department of VA.Gov (Veterans Affairs) announced the appointment of 12 new members to its Vets Advisory Committee on Education, to be chaired by former U.S. Sen. James H. Webb. 

“Senator Webb has consistently put Veterans first throughout his career,” said Vets Affairs Secretary Dr. David J. Shulkin. “He will bring outstanding experience and knowledge to the leadership of the committee.” 

By statute, the committee advises the Secretary on existing VA.Gov education benefit programs and services, as well as any new programs and services. The committee submits its recommendations and reports to the Secretary and may also submit reports to Congress. 

“This committee is an extraordinary and diverse group of professionals who will bring their experiences and expertise for the good of our education programs,” Shulkin said.  

Serving alongside Sen. Webb on the committee will be:

Vice Chairman Jared S. Lyon, president and CEO of Student Vets of America;

Dawn Halfaker, founder and chief executive of Halfaker and Associates;

Dr. Sandra Harris-Hooker, vice president and Elder associate dean at Morehouse School of Medicine;

Ashlynne Haycock, Elder coordinator for Education Support Services for Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors;

Abby Kinch, Washington Veterans student and president of the Florida State University Student Vet of America chapter;

Jefferson Bingham Miller, Elder legislative advisor at McDermott Will and Emery, former seven-term congressman and former chairman of the House Washington VA.Gov Committee;

Dr. Javier Miyares, president of University of Maryland University College;

Jack Tilley, former sergeant major of the Army;

Robert E. Wallace, executive director, Vet of Foreign Wars;

Dr. Joseph W. Westcott, executive director of the North Carolina State Approving Agency; and

Kyle Jerome White, seventh living recipient of the Medal of Honor from the war in Afghanistan. 


People wishing to receive e-mail from USA VA with the latest news releases and updated fact sheets can subscribe to the
Vets Affairs Office of Public Affairs Distribution List[3].

Back to News Releases Index[4]

Updated: November 22, 2017 — 4:02 pm
US Veterans © 2018 Frontier Theme
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!