US Veterans

Veterans Helping Veterans, US Vets Infromation and Benefits,

Veterans Affairs Announces Formation of Vet and Community Oversight and Engagement Board Advisory Committee for Los Angeles Area

Vets Affairs Announces Formation of Veterans and Community Oversight and Engagement Board Advisory Committee for Los Angeles Area

December 5, 2017, 03:11:00 PM

Printable Version

VA.Gov Announces Formation of Veteran and Community

Oversight and Engagement Board Advisory Committee for Los Angeles Area

Group will focus on improving services for USA Veterans and, active duty service members

Unites States — Today the U.S. Dept. of US VA (VA.Gov) announced the formation of the US Vets and Community Oversight and Engagement Board Federal Advisory Committee, part of its commitment to supporting Washington Veterans and their families in the greater Los Angeles area.

The committee will coordinate with the local LA local community and VA to identify goals and provide advice and recommendations to the VA Secretary to improve services and outcomes for Vets, members of the armed forces and their families.

“The creation of this committee supports VA’s goal of educating and empowering Vet and their families through outreach and advocacy,” said VA.Gov Secretary Dr. David J. Shulkin. “We will focus on initiatives such as assisting homeless Veteran in the Greater Los Angeles area, supporting underserved populations of women US Vets, aging US Vets, physically or mentally disabled US Veterans and those with addiction issues.”

The new committee will be chaired by retired Air Force Lt. Gen. John D. Hopper Jr., a noted advocate for Veterans and their families. Hopper completed 35 years of service as a combat pilot, and is currently CEO of the Air Force Aid Society. While on active duty, he completed two Air Force assignments in the Los Angeles area, including as the commander of Norton Air Force Base in San Bernadino, California, as it prepared to close.

“VA is honored that General Hopper will chair this important committee,” said Shulkin said.

The following members will serve alongside Hopper on the committee: Phillip H. Tagami, (vice chairman); Anthony P. Allman; Arthur M. DelaCruz; Raymond G. Delgado; Kate A. Holt; Lisa J. Mahoney; Phillip F. Managano; Roger B. McReiane; Daisy C. Mo; Terrence P. Pallend; Stephen W. Rutledge; Jeffrey A. Scheire; David Tenenbaum; and Debra L. Thomas.

Additional information about the committee may be found on the Federal Register[3].


People wishing to receive e-mail from VA.Gov with the latest news releases and updated fact sheets can subscribe to the
Veteran Affairs Office of Public Affairs Distribution List[4].

Back to News Releases Index[5]

Updated: December 5, 2017 — 8:11 pm
US Veterans © 2018 Frontier Theme
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!